Posted by: Vala Shahabi | October 28, 2009

Hello world!

So this is my first blog. While I wanna just jump right in I feel I need to provide some background information of who I am and why I’m blogging about SaaS and cloud computing.

Fast Forward to today…

Just about any website you visit today is running like an application inside your web browser. Google mail, Yahoo mail, Facebook.com, Salesforce.com, and this website where I’m writing this blog are just a few examples of applications that are running in the cloud via our browsers. They say history repeats itself, well here we are again. Applications use to run on mainframes and show up on dummy terminals, well that’s where we are today!  With virtualization and streaming, application delivery has also changed.

I want to use this blog to discuss how applications are being delivered today. How things are changing in the enterprise, how things are changing for software vendors (ISV), managed service providers (MSP), internet service providers (ISP), and anybody else delivering software.

Blast from the Past

So here goes….The first computer I had was a Tandy 1000HX. It had a 3.5″ disk drive with minimal memory and a flash hard drive with an early version of DOS loaded.  If I wanted to run an application I would have to place a diskette into the drive and execute either the .exe, .bat, or .com file. Many years later I got a real computer, it was a 486 with a small hard drive and about 4 megs of memory. It also came with a 2400 baud modem. The modem opened me up to a whole new world out there, hello BBS.  Some of these BBS sites were for chatting and some were for warez.  The Internet was still developing and the WWW didn’t exist yet. These BBS sites were not connected to each other. They did not share any information with another site. We would obtain games and applications from these BBS sites.  By the time I got my 28.8 modem the BBS scene was starting to thin out as people were using random FTP sites to obtain software.  Things were changing quickly. Software was being distributed by CD and FTP via dialup.  Applications were getting larger (from a few 3.5″ diskettes to a few CD-ROMs). Downloading such large apps via dial-up was no longer feasible.  Soon came the internet, the world wide web, and broadband connections.  Suddenly we were downloading applications and installing them in a fraction of the time we were before.


Leave a Reply

Categories

